Civic Spirit Schools

Civic Spirit began in 2018 as a coalition of 13 Jewish and Catholic independent schools in the New York Metropolitan area, who are committed to teaching civic virtues and building civic leadership in their educational communities.

To date, we have worked with over 30 middle and high schools across the United States in our cohort program and dozens of others through virtual symposiums and workshops. Each school draws on its own ethical and philosophical mission as a starting point for the cultivation of a renewed sense of civic responsibility.

School administrators, faculty, educators, and youth development professionals are the backbone of Civic Spirit. Through commitment and love of teaching, they create innovative ways to foster civic belonging, knowledge, and responsibility, integrating the unique assets and culture of their school and/or organization.

The dynamic Civic Spirit network ensures opportunity for educators and students to build fellowship and practice civil discourse and problem-solving across diverse demographics and systems.

If you or your school is interested in becoming a member of the Civic Spirit community, please contact our executive director, Rabbi Charlie Savenor, at:

Below is a list of schools and non-profit organizations that have participated in Civic Spirit educator and student programming.

Abraham Joshua Heschel School – New York, NY

Bishop Loughlin Memorial High School – Brooklyn, NY

Bishop Lynch High School – Dallas, TX

De La Salle Academy – New York, NY

Ezra Academy – Woodbridge, CT

Gratz Academy – Philadelphia, PA

Hannah Senesh Community Day School – Brooklyn, NY

Jack M Barrack Hebrew Academy – Bryn Mawr, PA

Joseph Kushner Hebrew Academy – Livingston, NJ

Kingsway Christian School – Avon, Indiana

La Salle Academy – New York, NY

Lumen Verum Academy – Braintree, MA

Luria Academy – Brooklyn, NY

Martin Saints Classical High School – Oreland, PA

Ma’ayanot Yeshiva High School for Girls – Teaneck, NJ

Milton Gottesman Jewish Day School of the Nation’s Capital – Washington, D.C.

Milwaukee Jewish Day School – Milwaukee, WI

MTA/Yeshiva University High School for Boys – New York, NY

Muslim Community Network – New York, NY

Next Generation Politics – New York, NY

SAR High School – Riverdale, NY

Shalhevet High School – Los Angeles, CA

Solomon Schechter Day School of Bergen County – New Milford, NJ

Solomon Schechter Day School in Boston – Boston, MA

St. Jean Baptiste High School – New York, NY

St. Joseph High School – Trumbull, CT

St. Peter’s High School – Staten Island, NY

Temple Emanuel – Newton, MA

The Frisch School – Paramus, NJ

The IDEA School – Tenafly, NJ

The Leffell School – Hartsdale, NY

The Ramaz School – New York, NY

The Weber High School – Atlanta, GA

Torah Academy of Bergen County – Teaneck, NJ

Xaverian High School – Brooklyn, NY

Yeshiva University High School for Girls – Hollis, NY

Yeshiva University High School of Los Angeles – Los Angeles, CA

Youth Revive, Inc. – Dallas, TX

To view a list of schools that have participated in Civic Spirit’s We the Educators symposium, please click on the following link below.

We the Educators – 2021 and 2022 Participating Schools

Bishop Loughlin Memorial High School
La Salle Academy
De La Salle Academy
Luria Academy
SAR Academy
Shalhevet High School
St. Jean Baptiste High School
St. Joseph High School
St. Peter's High School
The Heschel School
The Frisch School
The Ramaz School
Yeshiva University High School for Boys
Yeshiva University High School for Girls
Ma'ayanot Yeshiva High School for Girls